It’s been a while.
New year, new hobby.
Actually, the hobby started late last year.

The issue of gun debate got me thinking for awhile. Should I or should I not own a firearm?

Needless to say, I purchased my first handgun in October 2013. And I have not stopped since.

It is now almost a year since I started shooting and I have just completed my latest firearm – an AR 15 rifle.

My project was a bit overwhelming because it was my first time doing such a project and there was a lot of things that I did not know. What was the lesson learned? You better have the correct tools or else you will mar and possible damage your parts. I’ve marred some of the parts but for the most part, everything looks good with no damages.

Here are the parts used:

Aero Precision Stripped Upper & Stripped Lower in FDE or Flat Dark Earth (Registered)
Noveske 16″ Recon SS Barrel
Aimpoint Pro Red Dot 2MOA
LaRue Stock, Buffer Tube, and Grip
Daniel Defense Lower Parts Kit
Troy Industries 15″ Alpha Rail
Bullet Button (California rules, and to make it legal to own in California)
Griffin Armament M4SD-II Flash Compensator
Black Rain Nickel Boron Bolt & Carrier
CMC Single Stage FDE 3.5lb Trigger

Tools needed for this build:

Vice
Punches
AR 15 Vice Blocks
Brass / Nylon hammer
AR 15 Wrench Tool

Results:

IMAG0238 IMAG0237

The mag is a Magpul PMAG 10/30. I modified it so that it is now California legal.

I will be posting a follow up post with more detail pictures and pictures of the tools needed.

