Early this year I sold my MacBook Pro 1st Intel edition. I got about 300.00 for it off ebay, which I thought was fair since it was a 6 year old laptop. Hard drive was slow, the screen was crapping out, so I decided it was time to part ways. It was a good 6 years and it served me well.

I loved the simplicity of the OS and how it functioned. But after 6 years it was time for a change. I never really had a notebook before the MacBook Pro, and come to think of it, that was my first notebook. I wanted to get a PC laptop. And I stumbled upon the HP Pavilion dv6.

It was packed with goodies and since there was a sale going on. I purchased the dv6.

Initial impressions

It was not off to a good start. As soon as I opened the box to my new PC laptop, there was a noise. Since I’ve fixed laptops before earlier in my career, I knew exactly was that noise was – a loose screw. Ironic because I used to fix HP laptops.

Anyways I called customer care since I did not have all the tools needed to fix the laptop at the moment. The funniest thing they told me to do was to use a vacuum and suck the screw out. So I hanged them up and basically opened the ram slot and jingled my new laptop until the screw came out.

Super low quality control so far.

A good laptop needs a good keyboard. And well, the dv6 was somewhat of a letdown. I was hoping it would feel good or decent but I do not like the feel of the keyboard at all. Seems like it was made of cheap plastic, no back light (I knew this before I purchased but I’d thought I would point it out). The response from the keyboard is as good as any keyboard though but look and feel wise, its as cheap as it gets. It is a full size keyboard so you have the number pad on the side like any regular size PC keyboard out there.

The mouse pad is okay I think. The size is good, not too big, not too small. It smears very easy. I hate the mouse buttons because just like the keyboard, it feels dirt cheap.

The material HP chose for this laptop feels extremely cheap. The specs on this laptop are not bad but the initial experience and the look and feel of the laptop does not do it much justice.

Screen

This is a 15.6″ laptop. However, unlike most 15.6″ back then, it was one with a 1920×1080 screen. I love the resolution however the screen has some pretty bad viewing angles. But coming off the original intel MacBook Pro, I was kind of use to it but I did not expect this. I like the colors it produces, to me it’s a good screen other than the viewing angles.

Performance

I opted for a 2GB AMD Radeon(TM) HD 7690M because I wanted to do some gaming on this which was really not available on the MacBook Pro.

Here are my specs:

• 2nd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM (2.2 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache) with Turbo Boost up to 3.1 GHz
• 2GB AMD Radeon(TM) HD 7690M GDDR5 Discrete Graphics(TM) [HDMI, VGA]
• FREE UPGRADE to 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 750GB 5400 rpm Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
• 9 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
• 15.6″ Full HD HP Anti-glare LED (1920 x 1080)
• FREE UPGRADE to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
• HP TrueVision HD Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone and HP SimplePass Fingerprint Reader
• Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)

With these specs I can play all games but obviously not at high settings. Actually being able to run Skyrim and LA Noire was a surprise.

Too bad even with a 9 cell battery, the laptop only last about 3.5 hours.

Just about everything else on the laptop smooth. Running programs on this machine should not give you any problems. And having multiple programs that eat a lot of ram does not slow down the laptop at all.

Haven’t really used the Blu Ray, as you can see it was a free upgrade, so can I say no to that?

I have not encountered any issues with the laptop.

Final Thoughts

Pros –
Screen size.
Full size keyboard
1920×1080 resolution
Free upgrade to Blu Ray player

Cons –
Look and feel really cheap
Quality control is very poor

MacBook Pro vs HP Pavilion dv6.

While the MacBook Pro was 6 years old, they did a lot of things right. The look and feel of the laptop was tremendous. I paid 3k for the Mac, and it felt like a 3k laptop. I paid less than 1k on the dv6 and it feels like a $300 laptop to me. The material Apple uses just outshines the HP dv6 in every way.

While these things do no hinder the performance of the laptop in any way, I feel a bit cheated and obviously a bit letdown by HP. Even to this day, after a good 9-10 months of using this laptop, I find myself look at the MacBooks and scheming for my next purchase or hoping that this HP actually breaks down so I have a real excuse to purchase another laptop.

